Yum! Lunch bowl with barley, beans & greens

I’ve been wanting to start posting fuel/food for some time now, so here goes. I mentioned losing weight recently, I’m down about 14lbs total now, yay! Here’s a simple one-bowl meal I make, measured out for my “perfectly balanced” lunch. I usually assemble a few at a time so I’m ready for the week ahead…

FullSizeRender-176

For each bowl, measure out:

1/2 cup cooked barley

3/4 cup kidney beans & grilled marinated tofu

1 1/2 cups pan-steamed greens & grilled veggies

1 Tbsp light dressing of choice

Simple, right? My choice of veggies today were kale, roasted squash, grilled zucchini and baby tomatoes. The tofu is a dill-flavoured patty, sliced, and lightly pan-fried in a smidge of olive oil. Topped with snipped cilantro. Yum!

Leave a Reply

