Week in review: September 14-20, 2015 (week 9)

Progress Report

What a great week! Swim camp was in its second week, and I did a ton of work on kick and body rotation. My abs are killing me, but at the same time, I’m relieved to know they’re still there. I’m anxious to start regular practice, I’m also very aware I can’t rush into anything without more work on body rotation, so I’ve got to keep working at it in practice and during solo swims. Little light on the mileage, but focus has been on the camp and doing quality drills, so all’s well:

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 4.52.13 PM

This week I also met one-to-one with my coach. I’ve signed up for a more intensive program, whereby he will take on the role of personal coach, nutrition counsellor, season planner, whip cracker, whiny complaint negator, and the like. He’s already put me on a strict meal plan, which I have to say is pretty exciting. It’s been 4 days, the plan is easy to follow, I eat tons of healthy foods in reasonable portions, I write it all down, and he’ll review it each week. I’m feeling pretty motivated, I imagine in the next week or two we’ll get to talking about goals and next year’s races. I think it’s going to be a good year…

Speaking of good, fall swimming is well under way. Today’s swim at Meech, air temp 59, water temp 69. No wetsuits, chilly getting in and out to the island, but from that point on was an absolute dream, gliding through cool, crisp water. Wind was up. Loved it.

FullSizeRender-131  FullSizeRender-132

Shelley on the left, Diane, on the right:

FullSizeRender-122  FullSizeRender-125

Swim-selfie dork(s):

FullSizeRender-130  FullSizeRender-123

Leave a Reply

